Lou

Time for a bath in the early morning light. “Tranquil Moments” foamed in my generous garden tub. I eased into the swirling suds and soaked in the decadence of my tiny ensuite, calming blue walls, battenberg lace and linen white wainscott.  Everything seems so right- so perfect in my little world. Accompanying my meanderings I identify the haunting coo of the Mourning Dove. Ahh! a reminder that although I am hidden away in my own “tranquil moment” I suffer deep sadness. Lights- I need lights- layers and layers of twinkle lights and a chandelier- an antiquated crystal chandelier that dances and sparkles on the walls of my quiet place. This moment was etched in silver in the dark storm clouds.

God’s word eases its way in my now conflicted thoughts. I read in my mind’s eye James 3- words– words about two kinds of wisdom, then strong dark words like strife, envy- bitterness and confusion. I need a happy ending. Sliding out of the tub I pick up my phone and land on the bible app. and continue to read what had started in my head”But the wisdom from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle and easy to be entreated, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality and without hypocrisy.” Good words- words- words of  light and hope- that with a little bit of  work can make the heart sing again!

Sliding back into the bubbles my heart song spilled out and my voice rose “Create in me a clean heart, Oh God- restore unto me the joy of my salvation and renew a right spirit within me”…Oh David- a man after God’s own heart was a real man with real struggles, real enemies, family that did not honor him and a life that eventually only wanted to serve His God and His Father. I like him.

 

 

 

Leave a comment